African-American Popular Culture 2011 Panel Session(s)

AFRICAN-AMERICAN POPULAR CULTURE AREA PANEL
Area Chair: Angela Nelson, anelson@bgsu.edu
2011 Midwest Popular Culture Association and Midwest American Culture Association;
14-16 October 2011 (Hilton Milwaukee City Center, Wisconsin)
Updated 10/11/11

3103. Sunday 8:00am-9:30am.
Black Popular Events and Practices
Area: African-American Popular Culture  

“The Muse Behind the Movement: African Cultural Retentions in the Music of the Cultural Revolution,” Anyabwile B. Love, Temple University, Department of African American Studies, <alove@temple.edu>
“Archaeology of Child Slave Labor and Play in North American Contexts,” Megan Sharpless, University of Wisconsin—Milwaukee, Department of Anthropology, <sharple3@uwm.edu>
“From Galveston to Madison to Washington, DC: The Evolution of Juneteenth and Remembrances of Emancipation,” J. Vincent Lowery, University of Wisconsin-Green Bay, Department of Humanistic Studies, <loweryj@uwgb.edu>

Chair: J. Vincent Lowery

3203. Sunday 9:45am-11:15am.
Black Popular Orature, Theatre, and Film
Area: African-American Popular Culture  

“Freddie Hendricks as Culture Bearer in Devising Musical Theatre for African American Youth,” Sharrell Luckett, University of Missouri—Columbia, Department of Theatre, <Sdld5d@mail.missouri.edu>
“The Future of the Past: Historicizing Perry Power and the Evolution of Black Cultural Production in Film,” Timeka N. Williams, University of Michigan, Department of Communication Studies, <timekani@umich.edu>
“A People’s History of Spoken Word: From African American Toasts and Tales to Youth Slam Poetry,” Valerie Chepp, University of Maryland, Department of Sociology, <vchepp@gmail.com>

Chair: Valerie Chepp

3310. Sunday 11:30am-1:00pm.
Colorism and Masculinity in Black Popular Culture
Area: African-American Popular Culture  

“Proud not Perfect: A Discourse Analysis of Colorism in the Children’s Cartoon Proud Family,” Catherine Knight Steele, University of Illinois—Chicago, Department of Communication, <caknight@uic.edu>
“Hue is the Fairest of Them All? Or, Light vs. Dark in Essence Magazine: A Discursive Study of the Meaning of Skin Color in Black America,” Simone Puff, University of Klagenfurt, Austria, Department of English and American Studies, <Simone.Puff@uni-klu.ac.at>
“The Evolution of an Identity: GI Joe and Black Masculinity,” Carlos D. Morrison, Alabama State University, Department of Communications, <cdmorrison@alasu.edu>

Chair: Carlos Morrison