Organization of the College

College of Arts and Sciences

Largest of the seven colleges at BGSU, the College of Arts and Sciences includes four schools (art; cultural and critical studies; media and communication; and earth, environment, and society) and twenty-two academic departments, as well as nine interdisciplinary programs. These units span the range of the traditional disciplines in the arts and humanities, languages, sciences and mathematics, and social sciences as well as connecting disciplines in the environment and contemporary culture.

A strong faculty of more than 500 full-time teacher/scholars offers general and specialized instruction leading to seven different undergraduate degrees: the bachelor of arts, the bachelor of science, the bachelor of liberal studies, the bachelor of fine arts, the bachelor of arts in communication, the bachelor of science in journalism, the bachelor of science in environmental health, and the bachelor of science in fire administration. Under these eight degree programs, students may choose from about 100 different major fields and an equal number of minors. These wide-ranging choices provide ample opportunity to pursue individual interests and needs. All programs unite the common characteristics of combining breadth of intellectual inquiry with the specialized instruction that students need to seek either immediate and meaningful post-baccalaureate employment or preparation for graduate or professional study.

Updated: 12/01/2017 10:35PM