Sport Clubs

Sport clubs are formed and lead by students and provide the opportunity to engage in intercollegiate competition with representative teams from other clubs, colleges, and universities or to just enjoy structured sports activities with like-minded individuals.

Sport clubs present a unique learning opportunity for those students who choose to form, lead, and expand their clubs. Students elect their own officers, draft their own constitutions, determine practice days and times, schedule facility space, set up playing schedules with other teams, and locate and pay officials for home contests. Officers in sport clubs truly learn what the term "student development" means.

Membership in sport clubs is open to currently enrolled undergraduate students carrying a minimum of ten credits or graduate/non-traditional students with six credits. Every club needs at least ten active student members in good standing.

Listed below are BGSU's active Sport Club teams and contact information for a representative of each club and links to active organization web sites. Direct additional questions and inquiries to the Sport Clubs Office: 419.372.2464.

SportContactEmail
BaseballDylan Atibagosdylana@bgsu.edu
Basketball (M)Tom Rodgersrodgtho@bgsu.edu
Basketball (W)Kaela Howardhowarm@bgsu.edu
BowlingKyle Waynickwaynick@bgsu.edu
CurlingNicholas Blossomnblosso@bgsu.edu
DodgeballMarc Ritzenthalerritzenm@bgsu.edu
EquestrianMackenzie Dunnmrdunn@bgsu.edu
Figure SkatingMary Jane Walthermjwalth@bgsu.edu
GymnasticsKatie Kobbskkobbs@bgsu.edu
Ice Hockey (M)John Hannahjhannah@bgsu.edu
Judo & GrapplingAmitabha Palmeramitap@bgsu.edu
Lacrosse (W)Sarah Jonosiksjanosi@bgsu.edu
Lacrosse (M)Nick Mendenhallnmenden@bgsu.edu
Rugby (M)Ryan Steinmetzsteinrc@bgsu.edu
Rugby (W)Kristina Irwinkirwin@bgsu.edu
Soccer (M)Jared Lylejlyle@bgsu.edu
Soccer (W)Taylor Rittenhousetritten@bgsu.edu
Softball (W)Caylee Lutzlutzc@bgsu.edu
Swimming/DivingMegan Longlongme@bgsu.edu
TennisVanessa Burkevburke@bgsu.edu
Track & FieldSammi Piroskapirosks@bgsu.edu
Ultimate Frisbee (M)Greg Hamlinghamlin@bgsu.edu
Volleyball (M)Nick Suboyunsuboyu@bgsu.edu
Volleyball (W)Alex Sharkeysharkea@bgsu.edu
Water PoloLogan Lansonllanson@bgsu.edu
WaterskiAli Molletamollet@bgsu.edu

Cost

Individual cost varies from club to club depending on funding from the Office of Campus Activities, donations, and fundraising.

Registration

Individuals or groups of students can apply for official sponsorship as a competitive club. To register a new club, make an appointment with the Coordinator of Competitive Sports.

Existing clubs or student organizations may not be duplicated. Other factors in considering new requests involve risk management and liability issues, availability of facilities, funding, regional competition and a club's potential overall contribution to the University community. 

Coaches

Teams can select volunteer coaches for their club based on the individual’s knowledge and experience in the desired sport. Coaches need not be affiliated with BGSU but must be approved by the Coordinator of Competitive Sports. 

Returning Clubs

Team Registration occurs each fall with the completion of the Sport Club Updates Form being submitted by an officer of each club to the Sport Clubs Office. The information submitted reflects the club's goals and objectives and provides the Sport Clubs staff details to share with prospective members upon receiving inquiries. A completed Sport Club Updates Form can be submitted via an email attachment or in person to the Sport Clubs Office located at 130 Perry Field House.