logo

Technology in the Classroom Subcommittee

 The Office of the Chief Information Officer (CIO) and the CIO Advisory Board has established the Technology in the Classroom Subcommittee (formerly known as the Academic Software Advisory Committee / ASAC) in order to provide support for requests to purchase instructional software and databases. The Technology in the Classroom Subcommittee annually invites faculty to apply for instructional software or additional software licenses. The Technology in the Classroom Subcommittee will review requests and prioritize those that are recommended for purchase.

Before logging in to apply for software, please read the Application Process and Timetable and Submission Instructions to learn how to submit your applications. When you are ready to log in, click the link below:

Application Form

If you have questions, please contact a member of the Technology in the Classroom Subcommittee by clicking the link below:

The CIO Advisory Committee and the Office of the Chief Information Officer (CIO) have established the Technology in the Classroom Subcommittee (formerly Academic Software Advisory Committee / ASAC) in order to provide support for requests to purchase instructional software and databases. The Technology in the Classroom Subcommittee annually invites faculty to apply for instructional software or additional software licenses. The Technology in the Classroom Subcommittee will review requests and prioritize those that are recommended for purchase. The committee is comprised of one individual identified by each college dean, one CIO Advisory Committee representative, and two representatives from the Office of the CIO. If you have questions about the process, you may contact a committee member listed below.

   Technology in the Classroom Subcommittee

Committee Members

Name

College/Office

  E-Mail Address

Colleen Boff, Chair University Libraries cboff@bgsu.edu
Pascal Bizarro Accounting / MIX pbizarro@bgsu.edu
Kathy Dean Registrar kkdean@bgsu.edu
Adam Fullenkamp School of HMSLS fullena@bgsu.edu
Connie Molnar Center for Faculty Excellence cmolnar@bgsu.edu
Sheri Kellogg Office of the CIO skellog@bgsu.edu
Kelly Kozlowski School of Intervention Services kkozlow@bgsu.edu
Jeff Nelson University Bookstore nelsonj@bgsu.edu
Andy Schocket History Department aschock@bgsu.edu
Wendy Schortgen University Bookstore bwendy@bgsu.edu
Phil Stinson Human Services Department stinspm@bgsu.edu
Jessica Turos Career Center jmturos@bgsu.edu
Jodi Webb Office of Campus Activities jwebb@bgsu.edu
Deb Wells Office of the CIO wells@bgsu.edu

The Technology in the Classroom Subcommittee considers the following criteria (listed in no particular order) when determining the final ranking submitted to the CIO:

  • Dean’s ranking
  • Pedagogical justification articulated in the application
  • Number of departments and/or colleges requesting the software
  • Monetary contribution from the department and/or college for purchase of the software
  • Availability of the software to students (e.g., keyserved, in open labs, in restricted or departmental labs)
  • Number of courses and students projected to use the software
  • Likelihood that students not in the course(s) will use the software
  • Whether students will continue to use the software after they have completed the course(s)
  • Extent to which the software is integrated into the course
  • Extent to which similar software is available on campus
  • Extent to which support for the software can be provided to students