BGSU Historic Campus Tour
Alice Prout Hall
Throughout the 1940s, perhaps the most important problem facing the University administration was the housing shortage. To relieve some of the pressure created by the increase in population, the administration approved construction of several dormitories. Alice Prout Hall was one result of these efforts. Named for the popular University "First Lady" Alice Prout, the building was intended to be a dormitory for women that would also contain space for dinners, senior farewells, and "fireside frolic." Indeed, the fireplace in the lounge lent a special coziness to the building. The building housed only women until the mid-1970s, when the Humanities Cluster College
|was established in the building. In 1977-78, Alice Prout Hall housed only junior and senior women following the removal of the Humanities Cluster College. In the fall of 1981 it became coeducational once more, and was known as a "study dorm" with quiet hours and a variety of popular programming. Alice Prout Hall was demolished in 2001 to prepare for the construction of an expanded student union.|
Listed below are additional highlights in the history of the building:
- 1954, Board of Trustees approves plans for construction of a dormitory for women.
- 1955, construction completed at a total cost of $750,000 financed through the sale of revenue bonds on the open market.
- 1955, building opens and houses 270 women.
- 1972, Board of Trustees approves the switch to a coeducational facility.
- 1972, Humanities Cluster College program established in building.
- 1977-8, Board of Trustees approves switch to junior and senior women only and removal of the HCC.
- 1981, Living-Learning Experience program established, with women and men residents.
- 1986, $21,250 renovation completed replacing locks on the doors in the building.
- 1996, computer lab opens in building.
- 2001, demolition of Prout Hall to prepare for building of new student union.