BGSU Historic Campus Tour
Educational Memorabilia Center/Little Red Schoolhouse
This one-room school is a part of the University's collection of pre-1940 educational memorabilia. The schoolhouse, built in 1875, was originally located in Huron County, southeast of Norwalk, Ohio. The building was 100 years old when it was dismantled and moved to the BGSU campus, to become a living history museum. Only twelve other colleges or universities in the United States have one-room schools on campus. The building is visited by more than 1,000 people each year, including hundreds of school children who come here for field trips. Fully restored with many
|original items, the schoolhouse provides an ideal classroom experience, and faculty are encouraged to consider the site for class meetings. Tour guides are also available to provide a 20-minute orientation to the schoolhouse.|
Listed below are additional highlights in the history of the building:
- 1875, constructed near Norwalk in Huron County.
- 1975, dismantled and reconstructed on BGSU campus.