logo

Advisory Committee

2016-2017 Asian Studies Advisory Committee

 

Khani Begum
Associate Professor of English
Academic Interests: Modern and Contemporary Literatures; Post Colonial Literature and Theory; South Asian Studies; World Cinema; and Film Theory.
Courses Taught: Cinema and Nation: Postcolonial Theory, Partition and the Transnational Indian Cinema; Transnational Trends in Asian Cinemas; Iranian Women and Film; Postcolonial World Cinema; Women in Islam; Women, Islam, and Literature; Muslim Women in Literature and the Media.
Contact Information: 419.732.8143  203 East Hall khani@bgsu.edu

Vibha Bhalla
Associate Professor, Department of Ethnic Studies, School of Cultural and Critical Studies
Academic Interests
: Transnationalism, Gender and migration particularly from India,  migration in mid-western states
Courses Taught
: Contemporary Immigration to US, Global Perspectives on Women, Intro to Ethnic Studies, Intro to Asian American Studies, Twentieth century North American Migrations
Contact Information
: 419.372.7121,  244 Shatzel Hall, vibhab@bgsu.edu

Neil A. Englehart
Associate Professor of Political Science
Academic Interests: Politics of East and Southeast Asia; human rights, state formation and state failure.
Courses Taught: Comparative Politics; Asian Politics; and Human Rights.
Contact Information: 419.372.2923  121 Williams neile@bgsu.edu

Christopher J. Frey
Assistant Professor of Education
Academic Interests: Indigenous and immigrant education policy; Global Histories of colonial and minority education; Education in Japan; Japanese modernization.
Classes Taught: History of Education; Education in a Pluralistic Society; Navajo Society; Education and Art; International Education Policy.
Contact information: 419.372.9549  559 Education cjfrey@bgsu.edu

Rebecca L. Skinner Green
Associate Professor of Art History
Academic Interests: World art and cultures.
Courses Taught: Art of India and Southeast Asia; Art of China and Japan; Oceanic Art; Western African Art; MesoAmerican Art, Western Art; Survey of World Art; Special Topics in Art History; Critical issues in World Art.
Contact Information: 419.372.8514  1010 Fine Arts rlgreen@bgsu.edu

Akiko Kawano Jones
Director, Asian Studies Program; Senior Lecturer of Japanese Language; Director of Summer Program in Japan and Peace Studies in Hiroshima.
Academic Interests: Language pedagogy; Japanese culture and customs; tea ceremony, study abroad in Japan.
Courses Taught: Japanese Language (beginning through third year); Japanese Business Language and Culture; Japanese Culture and Tea Ceremony; Summer Study in Japan.
Contact Information: 419.372.7136   110 Shatzel jakiko@bgsu.edu

Sung Bae, Professor, Finance
Contact Information: 419.372.8714  201A Business Administration bae@bgsu.edu

Kristin Rudisill
Assistant Professor of Popular Culture
Academic Interests: South Asia, theater and dance, globalization, religion.
Courses Taught: Global Popular Culture; Indian Popular Culture; Religion and Popular Culture; International Performing Arts; Popular Religion in Asia.
Contact Information: 419.372.2444  246 Shatzel Hall rudisik@bgsu.edu

Ryoko Okamura
Assistant Professor of Japanese
Contact Information: 419.372.5566   119 Shatzel Hall oryoko@bgsu.edu

Jeremy Wallach
Associate Professor of Popular Culture
Academic Interests: Asian traditional and popular music, globalization, Southeast Asia, post-colonial theory.
Courses Taught: Asian Popular Music, Global Popular Culture.
Contact Information: 419.372.8204   346 Shatzel Hall  jeremyw@bgsu.edu

Min Yang
Associate Professor of Chinese
Contact Information: 419.372.7140  109 Shatzel Hall ymin@bgsu.edu

Man Zhang
Associate Professor of International Business
Academic Interests: International entrepreneurship; born global firms; international performance, information technology capability; international strategies.
Courses Taught: Introduction to International Business; Online Introduction to International Business and Global Management; International Management.
Contact Information:   419.372.6819  3009 Business Administration Building Annex  
mzhang@bgsu.edu

Esther Clinton

Adjunct Instructor of Pop Culture

Contact Information: 419.372.8204 346 Shatzel Hall

estherc@bgsu.edu