logo

2014-2015 Academic Calendar

student-teacher-bgsu4957

BGSU operates on a semester system composed of two 16-week semesters beginning in late August and ending in early May. The third semester, at which attendance is optional, is the summer session from mid-June through late August.

To complete a bachelor’s degree in four academic years (8 semesters), a student must average 15 credit hours per semester. The time required to complete a higher level degree (master’s or doctorate) depends on the specific degree program.

The 2015-2016 calendar is also available.

Summer Session

  • May 19 — June 27, 2014: First 6-week term
  • May 26, 2014 (Monday): Memorial Day, No Classes
  • June 16 — August 8, 2014: 8-week term
  • June 30 — August 8, 2014: Second 6-week term
  • July 4, 2014 (Friday): Independence Day, No Classes
  • August 9, 2014 (Saturday): Commencement

Fall Semester

  • August 25 — December 19, 2014: Fall Semester
  • September 1, 2014 (Monday): Labor Day, No Classes
  • October 9 — 10, 2014: Fall Break
  • November 11, 2014 (Tuesday): Veterans’ Day, No Classes
  • November 26 — 28, 2014: Thanksgiving Break
  • December 12, 2014 (Friday): Last Day of Classes
  • December 15 — 19, 2014: Exam Week
  • December 19, 2014 (Friday): Graduate/Undergraduate Commencement
  • December 20, 2014 (Saturday): Undergraduate Commencement

Spring Semester

  • January 12 — May 8, 2015: Spring Semester
  • January 19, 2015 (Monday): Martin Luther King Jr. Day, No Classes
  • March 9 — 13, 2015: Spring Break
  • May 1, 2015 (Friday): Last Day of Classes
  • May 4 — 8, 2015: Exam Week
  • May 8, 2015 (Friday): Graduate Commencement
  • May 9, 2015 (Saturday): Undergraduate Commencement

Dates in the above calendar are subject to change. For confirmation of the academic year calendar, please contact the Office of Admissions. To confirm dates for the summer session, see the Office of Registration & Records.

Check out our events calendar to see what’s currently happening on campus.