Meeting Minutes for the Forensic Science Institute of Ohio

The Annual Meeting of the FSIO was called to order at 10:04 am, on December 14, 2017 at the Ohio Fire Academy, Room 2303, 8895 East Main St., Reynoldsburg, Ohio. President Jeff Lynn (BGSU) presided over the meeting.

The following Members and guests were present: Becky Barlag (Ohio U.), Tammy Bonner (OSHP), Bob Budgake (Canton-Stark Retired), , David Cogan (Toledo), Bill Dean (Hamilton Co. Retired), Angela Farrington (Columbus), Michele Foster (Canton-Stark) via telephone, Karen Kwek (BCI London), Kaitlyn Porter (Toledo), Denise Rankin (Miami Valley), Heather Sheskey (OSHP), Jim Smith (BCI London), Anthony Stender (Ohio U.), Brandon Werry (OSHP) and Chad Wissinger (State Fire Marshal). A quorum was present. Eleven of the eighteen eligible voters were represented. Linda Erdei (Lake Co.) was represented by proxy.

Secretary Budgake presented the minutes of the September 14, 2017 meeting. The minutes were reviewed and approved. Motion, Chad Wissinger; Second, Angela Farrington. All Members voted in the affirmative.

Chad Wissinger presented the Treasurer's report. He disclosed that the FSIO has a checking account balance of \$13,531, a savings account balance of \$5,000 and a Tong Award's Fund balance of \$44,679. Chad indicated that he prefers moving the Award's fund to an investment firm located closer to the Fire Academy, for convenience sake. He advised he will research this further and report back to the membership.

Old Business:

Brandon Werry asked that the proposed 2018 meeting of Ohio's drug analysts be tabled. He contacted each lab for discussion topics and received no replies.

The membership indicated that the Cincinnati MAFS meeting and workshops, held September 17-22, 2017 went very well. Several stated that they received some negative feedback regarding the testimony workshop. Apparently the scheduled instructor, Ron Smith, was hospitalized shortly before this presentation and the substitute had very little time to prepare.

President Jeff Lynn revealed that the Ohio Attorney General's grant, to assist local drug analysis labs defray the cost/impact of the opioid epidemic, has been distributed to the labs. The only exception is Toledo, which will have \$100K released pending timely accreditation. Jeff mentioned he performed a pre-accreditation inspection of the Toledo operation and that they were well on pace to complete this goal.

Dave Cogan revealed that their accreditation onsite assessment is scheduled for February 26, 2018.

Michael Trimpe (Hamilton Co.) was not present to report on the proposed gunshot residue distance determination course.

New Business:

Brandon Werry, Chairman of the Nominating Committee, presented the following slate of officers for year 2018: President-Elect – Heather Sheskey (will become President in 2019), Secretary – Bob Budgake and Treasurer – Chad Wissinger. Motion to close the nominations and approve the presented slate of candidates, Brandon Werry; Second, Jim Smith. All Members voted in the affirmative. Nasir Butt (Cuyahoga Co.) will become President on January 1, 2018. Current President Jeff Lynn will remain on the Board and serve as Advisor.

Bob Budgake advised the membership that Jami StClair (Columbus) has retired. Since Jami is one of the original founding members, she automatically assumes Founding Member status. To maintain this membership level, annual dues payments and attendance at a minimum of one meeting per year are required. Also, Bob presented the Associate Membership application of Michelle Ball, who is Forensic Scientist II at the Columbus Police Lab. Motion to accept, Bob Budgake; Second, Chad Wissinger. All Members voted in the affirmative.

Bob Budgake reviewed the FSIO voting procedure for the newer members of the organization. He stated that there is only one vote recorded per member organization and Founding Member. Even if a member organization has more than one member, only one vote is allowed. It is up to that organization to determine how that vote will be cast. Emeritus and Associate Members do not vote.

The next meeting of the FSIO is scheduled for 10 am, Thursday, March 8, 2018, at the *Ohio State Highway Patrol Lab*, 1583 Alum Creek Drive, Columbus, Ohio 43209. Motion, Brandon Werry; Second, Chad Wissinger. All Members voted in the affirmative.

The meeting adjourned at 10:32am. Motion, Bob Budgake; Second, Chad Wissinger. All Members voted in the affirmative.

Respectfully submitted,

Robert E. Budgake, Secretary, FSIO