Meeting Minutes for the Forensic Science Institute of Ohio

The Annual meeting of the FSIO was called to order at 10:05am, on December 12, 2019 at the Ohio Fire Academy, Room 2303, 8895 East Main St., Reynoldsburg, Ohio. President Heather Sheskey (OSHP) presided over the meeting.

The following Members and guests were present: Becky Barlag (Ohio U.), Bob Budgake (Canton-Stark Retired), Nasir Butt (Cuyahoga Co.), Tammy Darden (OSHP), Jen Duvall (BCI London), Angela Farrington (Columbus), Mark Hiatt (Newark), Mark Losko (BCI London), Jim Smith (BCI London), Anthony Stender (Ohio U.), Tracy Sundermeier (Hamilton Co.), Mike Trimpe (Hamilton Co.), Brandon Werry (OSHP) and Chad Wissinger (State Fire Marshal). Brooke Ehlers (Miami Valley) was represented by proxy. A quorum was present. Eleven of the eighteen eligible voters were present or represented.

Secretary Budgake presented the minutes of the September 12, 2019 meeting. The minutes were reviewed and approved. Motion, Chad Wissinger; Second, Tammy Darden. All Members voted in the affirmative.

Chad Wissinger proffered the Treasurer's report. He disclosed the FSIO has a checking, PayPal and saving's account balance of \$30,238 and a Tong Award's Fund balance of \$36,580.

Old Business:

Chad Wissinger mentioned that the Ron Smith course entitled, Finding Latent Print Evidence with Chemistry and Light took place on October 22-25, 2019, at the Fire Academy. There were approximately fifteen attendees, two of whom came from the Republic of Oman. Chad stated that the course was worthwhile and presented very well.

Brandon Werry announced that on May 13, 2020 OSHP will host Hypergeometric Sampling and Uncertainty of Measurement workshops. These will take place at their academy and the instructor will be paid via Coverdell Grants funds. Therefore, there will be no tuition charged. OSHP will provide a free lunch at the academy. FSIO will not have any financial responsibility for this endeavor. Brandon estimated that they could seat approximately 130 attendees. He also mentioned distributing an official announcement of this event in January.

Heather Sheskey, on behalf of Jeff Lynn, informed the group that Jon Sprague has agreed to instruct a pharmacophore class at no charge. This presentation was given to a group of Ohio's crime lab drug chemists several years ago. Jeff floated the dates of April 21 or 28, 2020. The membership indicted that the April 28th date was preferred. This program will be held at the OSHP academy and has an anticipated length of two hours. Heather also mentioned that the Center for the Future of Forensic Science will be hosting a

Difficult Latent Print Decisions course in Bowling Green, June 15-19, 2020. This training is provided by Alice White of Evolve Forensics. Registration and associated training details will be posted on the Evolve Forensics website: https://evolveforensics.com. Heather cautioned that seating is limited, so best to be prompt in registering.

Bob Budgake revealed that in September, the Board approved sending flowers to the James Tong memorial service, once the date was finalized. Bob has since learned that the family wishes that in lieu of flowers, donations be made to the following scholarship funds: 1) the James and Harriet Tong Scholarship in Forensic Chemistry, Ohio University, 2) the James Y. and Harriet P. Tong scholarship in Chemistry, University of Wisconsin, or 3) the Robert E. Connick Undergraduate Scholarship in Chemistry, University of California, Berkeley. Bob motioned that in lieu of flowers that we approve a cash donation to the Tong Forensic Chemistry Scholarship at Ohio U.; Second, Jim Smith. All Members voted in the affirmative. Mike Trimpe motioned that we donate \$1,000 to this fund; Second, Brandon Werry. All Members voted in the affirmative. Bob also shared that there will be a memorial serve at 1:00pm, on Saturday, January 11, 2020 at the Dairy Barn, 8000 Dairy Barn Lane, Athens, Ohio.

New Business:

Nasir Butt, Chairman of the Nominating Committee, presented the following slate of officers for year 2020: President-Elect – Rebecca Barlag (will become President in 2021), Secretary – Bob Budgake and Treasurer – Chad Wissinger. Motion to close the nominations and approve the presented slate of candidates, Nasir Butt; Second, Mike Trimpe. All Members voted in the affirmative. Jennifer Duvall will become President on January 1, 2020. Current President Heather Sheskey will remain on the Board and serve as Advisor.

Mike Trimpe queried the group regarding interest in an Edwards vacuum rough pump maintenance course. Edwards is willing to instruct this for \$2,500 and would cover various pump manufacturers. This would be a full day class and limited to ten attendees. The membership showed sufficient interest. Mike will research this more thoroughly and report back at our March meeting.

The next Meeting of the FSIO, will be 10 am, Thursday, March 12, 2020, at the **Ohio** Fire Academy, 8895 East Main St., Reynoldsburg, Ohio. Motion, Jennifer Duvall; Second, Mike Trimpe. All Members voted in the affirmative.

The meeting adjourned at 10:30 am. Motion, Bob Budgake; Second, Chad Wissinger. All Members voted in the affirmative.

Respectfully submitted,

Robert E. Budgake, Secretary, FSIO