Meeting Minutes for the Forensic Science Institute of Ohio

A Meeting of the FSIO was called to order at 10:05 am, on September 14, 2017 at the Ohio Fire Academy, Room 2305, 8895 East Main St., Reynoldsburg, Ohio. President Jeff Lynn (BGSU) presided over the meeting.

The following Members and guests were present: Bob Budgake (Canton-Stark Retired), Nasir Butt (Cuyahoga Co.), David Cogan (Toledo)via telephone, Jennifer Duvall (BCI London), Angela Farrington (Columbus), Michele Foster (Canton-Stark), Steve Greene (BCI Retired), Karen Kwek (BCI London), Adam Pasternak (USFDA), Douglas Rohde (Lake Co.), Duane Satzger (USFDA), Heather Sheskey (OSHP), Jim Smith (BCI London), Anthony Stender (Ohio U.), Tony Tambasco (Mansfield), Michael Trimpe (Hamilton Co.), and Chad Wissinger (State Fire Marshal). A quorum was present. Fourteen of the sixteen eligible voters were represented. Angela Farrington represented Denise Rankin (Miami Valley) by proxy.

Secretary Budgake presented the minutes of the June 8, 2017 meeting. The minutes were reviewed and approved. Motion, Bob Budgake; Second, Chad Wissinger. All Members voted in the affirmative.

Chad Wissinger presented the Treasurer's report. He disclosed that the FSIO has a checking account balance of \$13,531, a savings account balance of \$5,000 and a Tong Award's Fund balance of \$44,352. Chad recommended that we keep the Award's Fund, in its current investment instrument, since it has been doing so well.

Old Business:

Heather Sheskey stated that the 2017 meeting of Ohio's drug analysts is NOT scheduled for the September MAFS meeting. Brandon Werry is tentatively planning this meeting for the 2nd week of April, 2018. He will contact each lab and ask for discussion topics.

Michael Trimpe stated that they have over 500 registrants for the Cincinnati MAFS meeting, being held September 17-22, 2017. Additionally, over 800 are registered for the workshops.

President Jeff Lynn discussed the Ohio Attorney General's \$1.5 million allocation in its 2018 fiscal budget, to assist local drug analysis labs, in an effort to help defray the cost/impact of the opioid epidemic. The State directed the FSIO to recommend how this funding shall be distributed, with a minimum distribution of \$100,000 per lab. Also, the State declared that the benefactors of this funding must be accredited. Jeff detailed that the AG's office provided guidance that Ohio's toxicology labs and the USFDA lab are not eligible to receive this funding. Jeff also shared that the local labs met in August and came up with an allocation recommendation. In addition, the FSIO Board of Directors met and concurred that Ohio's two unaccredited drug labs, Lorain and Toledo, should be considered by the membership to receive this funding, if they can become accredited

prior to June 2018. The Board instructed Lorain and Toledo to forward a letter of intent, if they choose to do so. On August 29th Dave Cogan (Toledo) submitted such a letter.

Motion to include Toledo in the funding recommendation, Bob Budgake; Second, David Cogan. President Lynn asked for a roll call vote. Note: only one vote is allowed per Member organization or Founding Member. The motion passed, seven to four, with two abstentions. The votes were recorded as follows:

Yes: Bob Budgake (Founding Member), Chad Wissinger (State Fire Marshal), Anthony Stender (Ohio U.), Douglas Rohde (Lake Co.), Michael Trimpe (Hamilton Co.), Heather Sheskey (OSHP) and David Cogan (Toledo).

No: Nasir Butt (Cuyahoga Co.), Tony Tambasco (Mansfield), Angela Farrington (Columbus) and Denise Rankin (Miami Valley) by proxy.

Abstained: Karen Kwek (BCI) and Duane Satzger (USFDA).

Since Toledo is now included in our funding recommendation, the membership had to revisit the recommendation offered by the affected labs. Numerous funding proposals were proffered. The final version that passed was by motion of Douglas Rohde; Second, Michael Trimpe. All members voted in the affirmative. The agreed funding formula is as follows:

Hamilton Co. \$325,000 Columbus \$235,000 Cuyahoga Co. \$235,000 Miami Valley \$235,000 Canton-Stark \$130,000 Lake Co. \$130,000 Mansfield \$110,000 Toledo \$100,000 (To be held pending accreditation)

In addition, the members recommended that if Toledo fails to achieve accreditation, their \$100K allotment will be distributed as follows:

Hamilton Co. \$0 Columbus \$15,000 Cuyahoga Co. \$15,000 Miami Valley \$15,000 Canton-Stark \$20,000 Lake Co. \$20,000 Mansfield \$15,000

President Lynn advised that the Attorney General's office requests a written report regarding how this funding was utilized. Also, Christina Frass is the AG's point of contact regarding this funding.

New Business:

Bob Budgake advised the membership that Ken Betz (Miami Valley) has retired. Since Ken is one of the original founding members, he automatically assumes Founding

Member status. Therefore to maintain this membership level, annual dues payments will be required and attendance at a minimum of one meeting per year. Also, Bob presented the Membership application of Michele Foster, who is the Quality Manager/Director of the Canton-Stark Co. Lab. Motion to accept, Bob Budgake; Second, Tony Tambasco. All Members voted in the affirmative.

Angela Farrington revealed that Jami StClair (Columbus) plans to retire on November 30th. Bob Budgake specified that Jami will also become a Founding Member.

Michael Trimpe queried the group regarding interest in a gunshot residue distance determination course. Mike received a few positive responses from the group and indicated that he will explore this matter further.

The next meeting of the FSIO, which will be our annual meeting, is scheduled for 10 am, Thursday, December 14, 2017, at the **Ohio Fire Academy**, 8895 East Main St., Reynoldsburg, Ohio. Motion, Chad Wissinger; Second, Bob Budgake. All Members voted in the affirmative.

The meeting adjourned at 11:20am. Motion, Bob Budgake; Second, Chad Wissinger. All Members voted in the affirmative.

Respectfully submitted,

Robert E. Budgake, Secretary, FSIO